For more information about the Chula Vista Coin Club email us at  

All Rights Reserved 2022

Site built and maintained by CVCC and it’s members

Chula Vista Coin Club

Brief Club History

Chula Vista Coin Club was founded on September 9, 1965 at the home of Mr. & Mrs. John S. Almond, where the organization and By-Laws of the Club were discussed and adopted.  The club’s first officers were President Art Ebersole, Vice-President Mary Almond, & Secretary-Treasurer Ruth E. Harper. Membership was 13 senior & 14 junior members.

 Over the years, membership has varied with public’s interest in the hobby but has maintained an average of 25 members. Chula Vista Coin Club joined the American Numismatic Association during the 80s and is still a member. The club has earned several awards from ANA for the coin exhibits. Elaine Schapira was such a driving force in the club that we honor her memory with the “Elaine Schapira Memorial Award”. Chula Vista Coin Club is a member of the California State Numismatic Association (CSNA) & the San Diego County Inter-Club Numismatic Council and has recently joined the Numismatic Association of Southern California (NASC).

 Today, the Chula Vista Coin Club has 47 senior members and a several junior members.  Life memberships are awarded to only those truly deserving this honor. We currently have two Life Members: Dave Jones and Virginia Bourke.

 With a banquet held each January to install new officers, the New Year activities are launched.  Club meetings feature a particular topic to further our numismatic knowledge, Show & Tell, an auction, a drawing and delicious refreshments.  The two potlucks a year are enjoyed in August and December.

Click here for Directions to our meeting place

Click here for our next Meeting

Click here for more information on Membership